The R.A.P. CD - December 2011

RAP-CD-logo-2Welcome to the December 2011 RAP CD! We get started with this month's Editor's Choice Award winner, an ear-grabbing PSA from Ben Thorgierson, a student at SAIT in Calgary! Get my comments on winners and more info on the Editor's Choice Award on the RAPfo­rum at www.rapmag.com. Track two is Production 212 audio from Dave Foxx. Commercials are on tracks 2 through 15. Promos are on tracks 16 through 24. More creative odds and ends on tracks 25 and 29 and we wrap it up with a special track from Jay Rose, which comes with this story:

It was 1971. I had just left a regular paycheck for the joys of free-lance radio production. No contacts, but a tiny bit of talent and a whole pile of ego... and a girlfriend who said "why not take the chance?" So I produced this, as a combination Christmas card and demo showpiece for the ad agencies. My "studio" was a beat up Ampex 961, and a cared-for Revox A77. An Eico amp drove Lafayette bookshelf speakers. I also had a 2nd-hand Uher Report L for location recording and as a source when mixing. I recorded kids in their living rooms, blade-edited the best lines, and punched them together on the Revox. The strategy seems to have worked: girlfriend and I got married, and the agencies brought enough work to send our kids to college. Merry Christmas to my radio production friends.

1. ♦ AIDS Calgary/Beaver, Ben Thorgierson, SAIT, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, stroobant[at]hotmail.com
2. Production 212 Audio, Dave Foxx, Z100, New York, NY, davefoxx[at]clearchannel.com
3. City Tile "Jingle Explosion", Zach Parkscott, Island Radio, Nanaimo, BC, Canada, zparkscott[at]islandradio.bc.ca
4. The Beat Goes On, John Rocchetta, KOOL / KFUN, Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Canada, steve.thompson[at]bellmedia.ca
5. Broadway Camera/Nikon D7000, Ben Malcolm, Rogers Radio, Vancouver, BC, Canada, Jay.Helmus[at]rci.rogers.com
6. Clearview Eye Clinic, Rod Schwartz, Grace Broadcast, rod[at]gracebroadcast.com
7. It's Lava, Kevin Green, Harvard Broadcasting, Regina, SK, Canada, kgreen[at]harvardbroadcasting.com
8. Candy Bouquet, Scott Chasty, Dougall Media, Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada, schasty[at]dougallmedia.com
9. Another Dimension, Richard Stroobant, Stroobant[at]hotmail.com
10. City Centre Condominiums, Deborah Hopkins, KOOL/KFUN, Kitchener-Waterloo, Ont., Canada, deboah.hopkins[at]bellmedia.ca
11. Shogun, Jay Ginsberg, KZST, Santa Rosa, California, jay[at]kzst.com
12. Cherwell Cars, Sean Bell, NYPD, New Yorkshire, United Kingdom, sean[at]sounds-good.biz
13. Heads Auto Repair/Spring Tune Up , Robin J. Egerton, CKLM-FM, Lloydminster, Alb, Canada, robin[at]borderrock.com
14. Lennox/Delta Air, Doug Newman, KOOL/KFUN, Kitchener-Waterloo, ON, Canada, doug.newman[at]bellmedia.ca
15. Hamsted Hotel, Eddie Bye, nova919, Adelaide, SA, Australia, ebye[at]dmgradio.com.au
16. Six String Showdown, Gary McClenaghan, Harvard Broadcasting, garym[at]harvardbroadcasting.com
17. Britney Spears, Colin McGinness, Star 107 Cambridge/UKRD Group, colin.mcginness[at]ukrd.com
18. Whistler Anthem Project, Dave Cockram, Rogers Radio, Vancouver, BC, Canada, jay.helmus[at]rci.rogers.com
19. Rock 94/Power Centre/Car Starter, Scott Chasty, Rock 94 (CJSD), schasty[at]dougallmedia.com
20. 1994/News, Rob Frazier, Rob Frazier Creative, rob[at]robfraziercreative.com
21. All Things Country, Bill Jackson, JRfm, bjackson[at]jrfm.com
22. Guy :15/Hot Sex, Rich Boerner, (formerly with) KLSX, Los Angeles, California
23. Best Companies Weekend, Adam Venton, UKRD Group Ltd., Bristol, United Kingdom, adam.venton[at]ukrd.com
24. Hot Spring 2, Jerimiah Busniak, Southern Cross Austereo, Melbourne, Vic., Australia, Jerimiah.Busniak[at]sca.com.au
25. A Breasted Development, Nick Tozzi, nicktozzi[at]hotmail.com
26. I Need to Use the Toilet, david.cockram[at]rci.rogers.com
27. Brickes Grin , Amos McSwain, DMG Regional Radio, Albury, NSW, Australia, amcswain[at]dmgradio.com.au
28. Branded Intro Montage, Amit Sharma, 91-7 The Bounce, Edmonton, Alb., Canada, Amit.Sharma[at]rci.rogers.com
29. J-Lo Jack, C.J. Goodearl, Clear Channel, Orlando, Florida, cjgoodearl[at]ccorlando.com
30. Kids Christmas, Jay Rose, Digital Playroom, Brookline, Massachusetts, jay[at]dplay.com

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet